Call (888) 543-2427
www.ibsenlaw.comFrequently Asked QuestionsContact Carilyn IbsenSitemap
Law Office of
Carilyn Ibsen PLLC
Defending Clients in North Carolina and South Carolina

Attorney Carilyn Ibsen's Blog

about Criminal Defense in North Carolina and South Carolina

 

Thursday, October 29, 2009

Go to Jail for A DWI in North Carolina?

If you or a loved one are facing a DWI, you are probably asking yourself if the possibility of going to jail exists. If going through the arrest process, spending time at the county jail, waiting for your bond to be posted,  getting your vehicle back, and telling family and friends about the incident isn't already enough, you now are asking if you will go to jail for a DWI in North Carolina.

The punishment for a North Carolina DWI will vary from serving no jail time to substantial jail time. A number of the following factors will affect your sentencing:
* whether you have a prior dwi offense
* The breathalyzer or blood alcohol result
* If you had a child in your car under 16 years of age at the time you were arrested
* Your prior driving record
* If you have completed a substance abuse assessment

In North Carolina there are 5 levels of sentencing for a DWI. Depending on a number of factors, including those listed above, will dictate what level you are at and what punishment awaits you.
Level 5: 24 hours to 60 days in jail
Level 4: 48 hours to 120 days
Level 3: 72 hours to 6 months
Level 2: 7 days to 1 year
Level 1: 30 days to 2 years

Before you start to panic, there are many things that can be done to prevent you from going to jail. Many DWI cases are flawed. The District Attorney must proved each element beyond a reasonable doubt. Did the officer see you driving? Did the officer have probable cause to arrest you? Did the officers violate the 4th Amendment when they stopped you at the DWI checkpoint? Were the proper field sobriety tests given? Was the breath machine working properly? Did the District Attorney give you proper legal notice that they were going to admit your breath results at trial? These are only some of the questions that must be answered before a person considers admitting guilt to a DWI in North Carolina. Don't throw the towel in yet- there is a lot that can be done to make sure your rights are protected.

If you ultimately decide to admit guilt, it is important that you are prepared for sentencing. North Carolina has aggravating and mitigating factors that a judge must consider at sentencing. A mitigating factor, like a clean driving record for a period of time or obtaining a substance abuse assessment prior to sentencing, can help decrease your ultimate punishment. An attorney can ask that your jail time be 'suspended', meaning not imposed if you abide by your probation terms. If you have prior DWI's and are facing substantial jail time, an attorney can ask the judge to allow you to serve your jail time in a residential treatment facility where you can continue to work.

Labels: , ,

posted by Carilyn Ibsen at 0 Comments Links to this post

Saturday, October 17, 2009

New NC Laws: Smoking in Bars, Car DVD players and Beer Samples

North Carolina passed 618 new laws this year. I thought I would highlight some of my personal favorites; Smoking in Bars, Car DVD players and Beer Samples at your local grocery store.

Effective immediately, it is illegal to watch a TV or glance at any TV or DVD player while driving your vehicle. Also banned is gazing at a laptop while driving. However it is still legal to look at your GPS, any navigational system, or audio system in your car. Confused? Lawmakers clarified this by stating video displays "that enhance the driver's view in any direction, inside or outside the vehicle" is legal. So, if I am looking at a map on my laptop- is that illegal?

However, texting and reading email while driving is still legal until December 1st when the new statewide ban takes affect. I wrote an earlier post on this law. I'm still perplexed- As of December 1st, I can't read email while driving but I can type in an address on my cell phone's navigational system and stare at the map without breaking the law.

Beer Samples
Do you enjoy wine samples at the local supermarket? Now you might get a beer sample with that wine sample. Samples will be limited to a 2 oz cup for legal drinkers only. Don't Sample Drink and Drive..

Smoking in Restaurants
This is probably the most controversial one. Starting January 1st, 2010 a restaurant patron will not be able to puff away at any restaurant or bar.

Checkout the Charlotte Observer article for more. There are some good ones- don't be impersonating the Sha Na Na band,  a impersonation that could cost you 15k!
http://www.newsobserver.com/news/local_state/story/120296.html

Labels: , ,

posted by Carilyn Ibsen at 1 Comments Links to this post